Future Web Designer in the making?

Even though I’m still just beginning to learn about web design, at this point I’m thinking it might be the career path that I want to take. I love the production aspect of handwriting HTML and CSS to make a web page from scratch look exactly how I want it, right down to the last horizontal rule. I want to be able to make simple personal pages for me and for friends and family and then eventually work with a design group in a firm. There’s a design company close to where I live that revamped the website for the company my dad works for and I would love to talk to them about everything I should expect from that type of job.

As a visual learner and overall design driven person, I think that web design could definitely be the direction I go in. I’m very organized and detail oriented, which is beneficial in this field. There are some aspects that I still need to work on, like learning JavaScript and handling multiple tasks and responsibilities for a project, but I still have tons of learning to do. With the rapid development of technology, the learning will probably never end!

As far as equipment goes, I have enough to get by for now. I have TextWrangler and Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop on my personal Macbook along with some extra external memory…probably enough to be considered a “beginner.” Ideally in the future I would love to have The Adobe CS-whatever Master Collection on my own huge Mac computer with a scanner and extra computer available for testing, buuut I think that’s a bit over my price range right now.

Hopefully this class can help me make up my mind as to what I want to do with my life. I should probably figure that out sometime soon…growing up is hard.

Leave a Reply

